Ian Cahoon

Ian Cahoon

Ian comes from Larne and is married to Grace. They have one child – James. After graduating, Ian worked as assistant minister in Joymount Presbyterian Church in Carrickfergus, before being called as minister to Alexandra in November 2017. He is an avid support of Larne and Millwall FC.

Email Ian

Jonathan Porter

Assistant Minister

Jonathan joined us as a Student Assistant in October 2015 and started as a full-time assistant in June 2016. He is married to Robyn. Jonathan is a people-person, and enjoys spending time with others in conversation. He is involved in a lot of Alexandra’s youth ministry. Jonathan enjoys meeting with friends, eating buns and is an avid supporter of Manchester United.

Email Jonathan

Jonathan Porter
Mervyn McCorkmick

Mervyn McCormick

Clerk of Session

Mervyn grew up in the congregation and is involved in many aspects of church life. Mervyn works at a local computer services company, is married to Elizabeth and they have two grown-up children.

Email Mervyn


Our Elders are elected by the congregation and appointed to look after all matters of doctrine, discipline and worship in the Church, working alongside the minister. Elders also have a pastoral role, looking after a district of families who are members of the church. Together, the Elders make up the Kirk Session, whose role is to look after and promote the spiritual interest of the congregation.

  • Stephen Barr
  • Betty Beggs
  • John Craig
  • Wesley Lewis
  • Phil Massey
  • David McConkey
  • Mervyn McCormick (Clerk of Session)
  • Hugh Muise
  • Lawrence Wallace
  • Trevor Wilson

Congregational Committee

The Congregational Committee consists of members of the Kirk Session and elected members of the congregation. Elections are usually held every three years. The Committee is divided into Sub-Committees and responsible for managing the financial affairs of the congregation, co-ordinating the catering and domestic matters of the church and maintaining the church buildings and manse.

Betty Beggs

Betty Beggs


David McConkey

David McConkey